V roce 2012 se součástí Nakladatelství Slovart stalo nakladatelství Brio. Nakladatelství Brio vydávalo ve spolupráci s předními spisovateli a výtvarníky nádherně ilustrované originální příběhy a sbírky pohádek pro děti od šesti do dvanácti let. Pro starší děti, mládež a dospělé Brio nabízelo sebrané spisy pohádek a bajek od renomovaných spisovatelů, doplněné o to nejlepší z klasické literatury celého světa. V této tradici pokračujeme také my v rámci stejnojmenné edice.


Jsme výhradní distributor nakladatelství TASCHEN pro Českou republiku


Fantasy a science fiction

Novinka
The Ministry of Time

The Ministry of Time

Autor: Kaliane Bradley
ISBN: 9781399726351
Internetová cena: 359,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 449,00 Kč
Skladem (3 ks)

A BOY MEETS A GIRL. THE PAST MEETS THE FUTURE. A FINGER MEETS A TRIGGER. THE BEGINNING MEETS THE END. ENGLAND IS FOREVER. ENGLAND MUST FALL.

In the near future, a disaffected civil servant is offered a lucrative job in a mysterious new government ministry gathering 'expats' from across history to test the limits of time-travel.

Her role is to work as a 'bridge': living with, assisting and monitoring the expat known as '1847' - Commander Graham Gore. As far as history is concerned, Commander Gore died on Sir John Franklin's doomed expedition to the Arctic, so he's a little disoriented to find himself alive and surrounded by outlandish concepts such as 'washing machine', 'Spotify' and 'the collapse of the British Empire'. With an appetite for discovery and a seven-a-day cigarette habit, he soon adjusts; and during a long, sultry summer he and his bridge move from awkwardness to genuine friendship, to something more.

But as the true shape of the project that brought them together begins to emerge, Gore and the bridge are forced to confront their past choices and imagined futures. Can love triumph over the structures and histories that have shaped them? And how do you defy history when history is living in your house?

Review

What a thrill to come to Kaliane Bradley's debut, The Ministry of Time, a novel where things happen, lots of them, and all of them are exciting to read about and interesting to think about . . . give in to the tide of this book, and let it pull you along. It's very smart; it's very silly; and the obvious fun never obscures completely the sheer, gorgeous, wild stretch of her ideas -- Ella Risbridger ― Guardian

Terrific, moving . . . Bradley's writing is clear and stylish, her dialogue dry and sprightly; the serious matters of love and mortality are cloaked in humour, but never too heavily. If you loved Audrey Niffenegger's The Time Traveller's Wife, or the big hit of 2022, Gabrielle Zevin's Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, this will be right up your street . . . don't wait for this tale to come to the small screen. Crack this book open and you'll see how time can disappear -- Erica Wagner ― Financial Times

This is
extraordinary writing, with unforgettable characters and a spine tingling love affair, and manages to be both a serious look at the weight of history and an absolute riot. A true original -- Francesca Steele ― i Newspaper

I loved its combination of extreme whimsy, high seriousness and cool understatement - and migration-as-time-travel is a clever conceit -- Johanna Thomas-Corr ― The Times

A
high-energy story with thoughtful things to say about belonging -- Martin Chilton ― Independent

Her utterly winning book is a result of violating not so much the laws of physics as the boundaries of genre. Imagine if
The Time Traveler's Wife had an affair with A Gentleman in Moscow . . . Readers, I envy you: There's a smart, witty novel in your future -- Ron Charles ― Washington Post

With a thoroughly offbeat love story at its heart and subtly interwoven musings on the UK's imperial legacy, it's
fast moving and riotously entertaining, a genre-busting blend of wit and wonder -- 10 best new novelists for 2024 ― Observer

About the Author

Kaliane Bradley is a British-Cambodian writer and editor based in London. Her short stories have appeared in Electric Literature, Catapult, Somesuch Stories and The Willowherb Review,among others. She was the winner of the 2022 Harper's Bazaar Short Story Prize and the 2022 V. S. Pritchett Short Story Prize. The Ministry of Time is her first novel.

Novinka
Blue Skies

Blue Skies

T. C. Boyle
The joyfully freewheeling, funny and profound new novel from 'one of the most inventive, adventurous and accomplished fiction writers in the US today' (Lionel Shriver)Welcome to...
Internetová cena: 263,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 329,00 Kč
Skladem
Novinka
Merciless Saviors

Merciless Saviors

H. E. Edgmon
The stunning conclusion to the Ouroboros series, a contemporary fantasy duology of reincarnated gods, past lives, and intoxicating villains, perfect for fans of Aiden Thomas. The day Gem...
Internetová cena: 263,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 329,00 Kč
Skladem (1 ks)
Novinka
The Cliffs (Fazbear Frights 7)

The Cliffs (Fazbear Frights 7)

Scott Cawthon, Elley Cooper, Andrea Waggener
Five Nights at Freddy's fans won't want to miss this pulse-pounding collection of three novella-length tales that will keep even the bravest FNAF player up at night... Some things must be...
Internetová cena: 207,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 259,00 Kč
Skladem
Novinka
Powerful

Powerful

Lauren Roberts
From the international bestselling author of Powerless, comes a sizzling and heart-racing new story set in the Kingdom of Ilya. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Fourth Wing. Adena...
Internetová cena: 239,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 299,00 Kč
Skladem
Novinka
Blackbird (Fazbear Frights 6)

Blackbird (Fazbear Frights 6)

Scott Cawthon, Elley Cooper, Andrea Waggener
Five Nights at Freddy's fans won't want to miss this pulse-pounding collection of three novella-length tales that will keep even the bravest FNAF player up at night... Haunted by the...
Internetová cena: 215,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 269,00 Kč
Skladem
Novinka
The Fourth Closet (Five Nights at Freddy’s)

The Fourth Closet (Five Nights at Freddy’s)

Kira Breed-Wrisley, Scott Cawthon
The pulse-pounding conclusion to the bestselling Five Nights At Freddy’s trilogy. What really happened to Charlie? It’s the question that John can’t seem to shake, along with the...
Internetová cena: 207,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 259,00 Kč
Skladem
Novinka
What If. . . Loki Was Worthy?

What If. . . Loki Was Worthy?

Madeleine Roux
Loki and Valkyrie seek redemption in the first adventure of an epic new multiversal series that reimagines the origins of iconic Marvel heroes.So many worlds, so little time. Infinite...
Internetová cena: 423,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 529,00 Kč
Skladem (5 ks)
Novinka
Brave New World

Brave New World

Aldous Huxley
A beautiful hardback edition of Huxley's inconic dystopian classic, introduced by Yuval Noah Harari'A masterpiece of speculation... As vibrant, fresh, and somehow shocking as it was when...
Internetová cena: 423,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 529,00 Kč
Skladem
Novinka
The Night Circus

The Night Circus

Erin Morgenstern
A beautiful hardback edition of the modern fantasy classic, from the bestselling author of The Starless Sea.'The only response to this novel is simply: wow. It is a breathtaking feat of...
Internetová cena: 479,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 599,00 Kč
Skladem (1 ks)
Novinka
Star Wars Inquisitor: Rise of the Red Blade

Star Wars Inquisitor: Rise of the Red Blade

Delilah S. Dawson
When the Jedi Order falls, an Inquisitor Rises.Padawan Iskat Akaris has dedicated her life to traveling the galaxy alongside her master, learning the ways of the Force to become a good...
Internetová cena: 279,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 349,00 Kč
Skladem (5 ks)
Novinka
Unraveller

Unraveller

Frances Hardinge
Welcome to your new fantasy obsession . . .In a world where anyone can create life-destroying curses, only one person has the power to unravel them. Kellen does not fully understand his...
Internetová cena: 239,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 299,00 Kč
Skladem
Novinka
The Song Rising

The Song Rising

Samantha Shannon
A stunning new edition of the third novel in the bestselling Bone Season series with gorgeous new cover artwork and updated text, by the bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange...
Internetová cena: 263,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 329,00 Kč
Skladem (1 ks)
Novinka
The Mask Falling

The Mask Falling

Samantha Shannon
A stunning new edition of the fourth novel in the bestselling Bone Season series with gorgeous new cover artwork and updated text, by the bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange...
Internetová cena: 263,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 329,00 Kč
Skladem (1 ks)
Novinka
The Mime Order

The Mime Order

Samantha Shannon
A stunning new edition of the second novel in the bestselling Bone Season series with gorgeous new cover artwork and updated text, by the bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange...
Internetová cena: 263,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 329,00 Kč
Skladem (1 ks)
Novinka
Horror Stories: Shocking Tales of Unspeakable Terror

Horror Stories: Shocking Tales of Unspeakable Terror

Feast your eyes on this luxurious hardback anthology of classic tales of horror, presented with gilded page edges, patterned endpapers and a striking, gold-embossed cover design. The 18...
Internetová cena: 519,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 649,00 Kč
Skladem (3 ks)
Novinka
Ghost Stories: Chilling tales of the supernatural

Ghost Stories: Chilling tales of the supernatural

This luxurious hardback anthology brings together 15 classic ghost stories by some of the genre's most acclaimed writers, presented in a beautiful gift edition with gilded page...
Internetová cena: 519,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 649,00 Kč
Skladem (3 ks)
Novinka
The Husky and His White Cat Shizun (Novel) Vol. 4

The Husky and His White Cat Shizun (Novel) Vol. 4

Rou Bao Bu Chi Rou
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER! Also known as 2ha, the wildly popular danmei/Boys' Love novel series from China that inspired a multimedia franchise! A historical fantasy epic about a tyrant's...
Internetová cena: 375,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 469,00 Kč
Skladem
Novinka
Stars of Chaos (Novel) Vol. 1

Stars of Chaos (Novel) Vol. 1

Priest
The steampunk danmei/Boys' Love novels from China that inspired multimedia adaptations-written by Priest, the author behind live-action hits Guardian and Word of Honor!The discovery of...
Internetová cena: 375,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 469,00 Kč
Skladem (2 ks)
Novinka
The Husky and His White Cat Shizun (Novel) Vol. 1

The Husky and His White Cat Shizun (Novel) Vol. 1

Rou Bao Bu Chi Rou
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER! Also known as 2ha, the wildly popular danmei/Boys' Love novel series from China that inspired a multimedia franchise! A historical fantasy epic about a...
Internetová cena: 375,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 469,00 Kč
Skladem (1 ks)

The Bonehunters

Steven Erikson
The Seven Cities Rebellion is over, Sha'ik is dead, but a last rebel force remains, holed up in the city of Y'Ghatan under the fanatical command of Leoman of the Flails. The prospect of...
Internetová cena: 319,00 Kč
Běžná cena: 399,00 Kč
Skladem

Doručení zdarma

Objednejte si knihy v hodnotě alespoň 900 Kč a dopravíme Vám je zdarma!

 

Dáme knihu logo

Přijímáme poukázky Dáme knihu

Aktuality

Připravujeme

V nakladatelství

Další knihy »

Bazar

Další knihy »

RSS

Přihlaste se k odběru RSS a dostávejte informace o nových knihách hned po jejich zveřejnění na stránce.

Nejdiskutovanější knihy

Novinky e-mailem

Jste knihkupec?

Vyberte si témata:






















































Váš email: